The Commission on Elections (Comelec) started yesterday its special voter registrations in Lanao del Norte area (September 11, 2018 until September 13) to prepare for the upcoming plebiscite on the landmark Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL). Three venues were identified to cater the said registrations particulalrly in the towns of Balo-i, Munai and Nunungan particularly in barangay Masibay.

The special satellite registrations also simultaneously conducted in other provinces like Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, and North Cotabato; in Cotabato City, Maguindanao; and in Isabela City, Basilan.

Nine special registration teams (SRTs) from the poll body’s from COMELEC’s main office in Manila led the special registration.

The SRTs will “augment the existing workforce and satellite registration conducted by the Offices of the Election Officer” in the plebiscite areas. This is on top of the regular voter registration for the May 2019 elections, which runs until September 29.

“Applications for registration, transfer/transfer of registration records with reactivation, reactivation, change/correction of entries, and inclusion/reinstatement of records in the list of voters will be accepted,” said the Comelec.

Voters who also already registered for the recent barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections, and the upcoming May 2019 national and local elections, need not register again during this special registration.
The plebiscite on the BOL is set to take place on January 21, 2019.

The law replaces the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) with a more powerful Muslim region – the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao areas.